257: Off-Season

14 09 2010

Today was the day we made our own flower arrangements. The class drew lots on the occasion or theme we had to make, and I got Mothers’ Day.

Since Mothers’ Day is celebrated in May, I wanted to make an arrangement that was summery and casual. In my head I had the image of a mother and daughter riding bicycles in the countryside and gathering flowers in a meadow, so I intended to use wildflowers instead of the usual roses or daisies. Unfortunately, wildflowers at this time of the year aren’t very easy to find. I had to resort to buying different colored mums (pun not intended) then gathered some foliage from our garden.

The container is a bayong which I filled with newspaper and a soaked block of floral foam inside (contained in plastic so it wouldn’t drip). As a finishing touch, I added a bag charm and a brown ribbon on the handles.

I like it a lot 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

