237: I’m not Machine-readable

25 08 2010

I went to the new DFA building to get a new passport because my old one has expired. It was a pretty easy process, unlike how it was in the previous years. Now you have to schedule your visit online, and print out your own forms. The great thing about this is that you have a guaranteed date and time schedule so there isn’t a “baka sakali” factor to deal with. I’ve heard one too many horror stories of passport applications in the past.

This is the waiting area after paying for the fees, and you wait for your number to come up so you can have your photo and fingerprints taken. Recent developments in international travel requires scanned fingerprints embedded in the passport information. But, as I found out when I renewed my driver’s license, my fingerprints are not meant for machine reading. I think they’re shallow or something. The fingerprint scanners can’t detect them at a reasonable quality, and it takes forever to get a readable image from my fingers. Eventually the tech person resorted to just making a note in my passport info that my fingerprints cannot reach the standard image quality.

Good luck to me when I actually travel abroad. I foresee spending a long time at immigration. -____-

MEEEEH.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

