135: Devouring Pahiyas Through the Lens

15 05 2010

Today I tagged along with Sarah, her mom, and her mom’s students to a trip to the Pahiyas Festival in Lucban, Quezon. It was hot, tiring, draining in every aspect, and it was absolutely wonderful. Despite the worst traffic I’ve ever experienced and some rendezvous miscommunication, the trip would’ve been perfect. I took so many photos I had trouble choosing which ones not to include here. Here I am eating grilled kiping, which is like a thin, tasteless nacho chip. I suddenly had a craving for salsa.

In the end, I chose to highlight my macro shots because I could say that that’s my photography “forte” and I love the little details that make me appear not so tourist-y. I did take tourist shots, but I also came in close and focused on the unusual things that caught my eye. Enjoy!

The More traditional methods of decorating with Kiping: Leaf-shaped arranged in lines, chandeliers and flowers.

Different centers for different “flowers”

These “roses” are beautiful. They could use a bit more attention to the string at the base, but the concept is lovely.

This is another great idea for kiping pieces! They look so festive πŸ™‚

Vegetables are strung together as decorations, as well. Wow, I don’t like any of these veggies (string beans, bell peppers, eggplants), but they’re nice for taking pictures πŸ˜€

Happy veggies are happy!

A lot of houses are covered in garlands and chandeliers of rice stalks instead of kiping.

Plants are also incorporated in the decor…

…as well as live animals.

This one had all of the possible decor in one house. This photo is only one part of the corner of the house. It was difficult to get a photo of the whole thing because so many people were taking pictures. There was a lot going on in the decoration as well as in the crowd. Nevertheless, this was the house that had the largest prize money that I saw.

This rainbow house used coconut fibers. Take note that the house behind the colorful facade is unpainted concrete. Haha.

Food is essential! The pancit hab-hab is cheap and yummy! Price range at 6 to 10 pesos. Gulp down a glass of cold gulaman afterwards.

I laughed at this sign! XD

Longganisang Lucban for sale. I did not buy this to take home because my parents had had too much longganisa for the past few days.

This was a lovely and scary surprise! A live water buffalo! I was ecstatic, but I suddenly realized that this thing could skewer me with its horns so I kept my distance. It was so large <_<

The children are beautiful πŸ™‚

The parade was another lovely surprise! We weren’t supposed to watch this, but somehow Sarah and I got caught in the crowd and I caught a glimpse of the parade/pageant. MY JAW LITERALLY DROPPED. It was beautiful! Next time I go to Pahiyas I’ll make it a point to catch this.

This has to be my favorite house. Actually I only like the rainbow lanterns. I can do away with the rest of the decor.

Here’s Sarah wandering the streets of Lucban. It is thanks to her and her mom that I got to experience this wonderful festival. πŸ˜€

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 05 2010
reena

very colorful! my sis went there too. i skipped bec of the heat. but ive there narin before. it was really colorful. a feast to the eyes. πŸ˜€

22 05 2010
140: Flora all around « everyday bananas

[…] don’t know if you can see it, but there’s my funny tan line I got from walking around with my backpack in Lucban. The top I’m wearing is a relic unearthed from the depths of my closet because the weather is […]

Leave a Reply

