100: The Great Cover Up

10 04 2010

I’m a crafter at heart, and when I think up a project I find ways to make them a reality. Today I finally sewed up the unused spiral notebook leaves salvaged from my high school and college notebooks and looked for a way to make pretty covers for them. I stumbled upon this article on instructables.com and decided: this is it! I have a lot of scrap illustration boards, paper and fabric just lying around waiting to be used, so this is the perfect opportunity. I pulled the materials out of their hiding places and started to work!

Despite the presence of a desk behind me, I always end up working on the floor for some reason. And at the end of the day I’m dirty all over because I roll around the floor getting scraps and cuttings and dust on me. I don’t really mind because it makes my shower afterwards more fulfilling somehow.

This is my first output. It’s not perfect, but I love it! The cover is made out of old denim jeans and illustration board. The inside is old spiral notebook paper sewn with yarn, the bookmark is an old necklace chain with Chinese-y clay beads. All the materials are recycled. 😀

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 04 2010
Sarah

WOW! Those look nice! I wanna try that, too~

Or maybe I’ll just have you recycle my old notebooks LOL!

22 04 2010
111: Weave Got You In Sight « everyday bananas

[…] my high school notebooks and readings in. But since I sent most of them into the garbage bin and made some into new notebooks, I cleaned out the container and it has found a new purpose. Then again, I’m thinking of […]

5 05 2010
Crossover « ang craftista

[…] Hardbound notebooks […]

Leave a Reply

