052: Coffee Break

21 02 2010

I broke my coffee fast. I haven’t had a cup (or glass) since wednesday, but today I really couldn’t resist. My head is hurting and I badly need a comforting drink.

I wasn’t a natural coffee drinker. I do love the smell of it brewing and I like coffee-flavored things like hard candy and ice cream, but I wasn’t really into drinking it. The first real time I drank anything coffee-based was–believe it or not– Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino. I do remember that day clearly: I was sleeping over at my cousin’s place in Sucat and we (with her mother/my tita) went to the newly-opened Starbucks at Festival Mall (!!). This was a time when Starbucks wasn’t seen on every corner and its logo wasn’t printed on shirts bought in Tutuban; and Festival Mall was still the coolest mall because it had a roller coaster inside. I fell in love with the place from the moment the doors opened and a blast of coffee-infused air gave me a surprise attack. I ordered a “tall, Mocha Frappuccino” not exactly knowing what it was, except that it was a cold drink.

I LOVED IT

Everytime I had the opportunity I’d order just that at a Starbucks. Just imagine my joy when the SM North branch opened. High school was just at the back of that mall, so a huge chunk of my allowance went to Mocha fraps.

Anyway, I digress. The point of the story is, I’m not really a coffee drinker. I prefer warm and iced coffee over piping hot ones, and when given the chance, I’d dump a truckload of sugar and cream in my cup (coffee connoisseurs cringe at the thought). Finally, coffee is more like comfort food for me. It’s not a physical perk-me-up, rather it’s an emotional one. And on this occasion, I’ll have coffee na lang, dear.

p.s. I have a habit of putting my feet up whenever I can. :p LOL

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

