Drumroll, please…

2 07 2009

While I was brushing my teeth this morning I glanced at the room across the hall. Lo and behold, there was my drum kit exposed for all to see. I remembered that it’s laundry day today, which explains the missing white sheet which was supposed to protect it from dust (but fails miserably). It was daytime and I didn’t have any class until this afternoon. I scrambled to get my age-old drumsticks, wiped off the dust from the stool, closed the door and whacked my way through the songs I used to play with my boyfriend and ex-officemates.

It was refreshing, even though I have forgotten the some of the song arrangements and most of the rolls. Practicing my drumming is one of the things that I’ve been meaning to do but never got around to doing it. I know there’s no excuse for that, since I have the drum kit right here at home and the free time to use it. But now that I’ve started again, I should make an effort to make it regular.

After an hour-long run, I messaged my boyfriend about it. As if the gods of coincidence were among us, he told me that our guitarist was available tomorrow and if I could, we should jam like we used to. I asked my dad if I could go and he said yes (he’s becoming more and more lax with these things recently… Wahoo!).

I’m excited, yet it’s kinda scary because I haven’t practiced anything since our last jam which was waaaaay back a bunch of months ago. So good luck to all of us and I hope I perform well tomorrow *crosses fingers*

Actions

Information

One response

5 07 2009
Beat on the doldrums « everyday bananas

[…] played surprisingly well, considering the fact that prior to the day before (Thursday) I haven’t touched my drums for months. Of course I did play safe; mostly staying away from […]

Leave a Reply

